NSBA Announces Finalists for Advocate of the Year Award

May 31, 2017

May 31, 2017

Molly Day


Washington, D.C. — NSBA today announced the finalists for the 2017 Lewis Shattuck Small Business Advocate of the Year Award. The award winner will be announced during NSBA’s Annual Advocate of the Year Award Luncheon on Monday, June 19 at 12:00 p.m., which is the kick-off event for the NSBA Washington Presentation on June 19-20.

“I am honored to recognize this group of outstanding, outspoken small-business advocates,” stated NSBA President and CEO Todd McCracken. “They have spent countless hours working to improve laws and regulations impacting America’s small-business community, and their efforts will make small-business ownership more viable for entrepreneurs for years to come.”

NSBA is honoring the following small-business owners for their excellence in advocating on small-business issues:

“Being a small-business owner is hard, and it’s even harder to find time to engage in politics and advocate on issues that impact not just your small business, but all small businesses,” stated NSBA Chair Pedro Alfonso of Dynamic Concepts, Inc. in Washington, D.C.  “I am humbled by the dedication of our five finalists and applaud their fight to improve America’s small-business community.”

Among the key criteria used in determining award finalists is a commitment to small-business advocacy above and beyond policies that specifically impact their own business or industry, as well as a broad scope of volunteer efforts to advance and improve small business.

Celebrating 80 years in operation, NSBA is a staunchly nonpartisan organization advocating on behalf of America’s entrepreneurs. NSBA’s 65,000 members represent every state and every industry in the U.S., and we are proud to be the nation’s first small-business advocacy organization. Please visit www.nsba.biz or follow us at @NSBAAdvocate.