Bipartisan Lawmakers Sign Small Business Pledge

October 17, 2012

Recently, NSBA reached out Members of Congress and candidates, and encouraged them to sign-on to NSBA’s Small Business Pledge. NSBA is pleased to recognize the number of lawmakers representing both sides of the aisle who signed on to the pledge in this first round. NSBA is continuing to seek signatures and will make future announcements for those individuals who sign on in the coming weeks and months.

“Politicians constantly talk about their support of small business, but oftentimes it ends there,” stated NSBA President and CEO Todd McCracken. “Taking the extra step and signing this pledge sends a strong message to America’s entrepreneurs and job creators that their elected officials truly do support them.”

The Small Business Pledge outlines the following key commitments:

  • Ensure that small businesses are not burdened by federal policy in a way that is disproportionate or unfair;
  • Improve small businesses’ access to capital, both in terms of equity investment and debt;
  • Reduce the regulatory and administrative burden on small businesses imposed by the federal government;
  • Restrain Federal spending growth, reform entitlement programs, and reduce the federal deficit in order to prevent a federal debt crisis;
  • Create a surge of economic growth by fundamentally restructuring the tax code to create simplicity, fairness, transparency, and incentives for savings and investment;
  • Ensure that small businesses have fair access to federal contracting opportunities; and
  • Require the President to convene a non-partisan White House Conference on Small Business to gain substantive direction from representative small businesses from across the country.

Those lawmakers who signed on in this first round are: Reps. Tom McClintock (R-Calif), Jeff Miller (R-Fla.), Steve King (R-Iowa), Danny Davis (D-Ill.), Randy Hultgren (R-Ill.), Jeff Landry (R-La.), Rodney Alexander (R-La.), Bill Huizenga (R-Mich.), Walter Jones (R-N.C.), Frank Guinta (R-N.H.), Bob Gibbs (R-Ohio), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Ron Paul (R-Texas), Gene Green (D-Texas) and Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.)

“NSBA is committed to supporting pro-growth, pro-jobs legislation and policies, and we applaud these lawmakers for doing the same,” stated NSBA Chair Chris Holman, CEO of Michigan Business and President of The Greater Lansing Business Monthly.

NSBA is the country’s oldest small-business advocacy organization with more than 65,000 small business members across the country, and operates on a staunchly nonpartisan basis. NSBA is committed to supporting pro-growth, pro-jobs legislation and policies, while at the same time ensuring that small businesses don’t bear a disproportionate burden of any such policies, and the NSBA Small Business Pledge is an important step forward.

For more details and to download the pledge, please click here.