Small Business Committee Leadership

January 24, 2019

Despite the stalemate over funding the government, the 116th Congress is well underway with new leadership at the helm for both the Senate and House Small Business Committees. The House Committee on Small Business will be under the continuing leadership—albeit in different roles—of two long-time Committee members. The 2019/2020 Chair for the Committee is Rep. Nydia Velazquez (D-N.Y.), and Ranking Member is former Chair Rep. Steve Chabot (R-Ohio). The two have worked together for many years and kick-started the 116th Congress by offering bipartisan legislation to simplify certain tax procedures for small businesses.

Across the Capitol, the Senate Committee on Small Business and Entrepreneurship will be chaired by Sen. Marco Rubio (R-Fla.) who has served on the committee for several years. Sen. Ben Cardin (D-Md.) will serve as Ranking Member, having served in past leadership roles on the Committee.

Both committees have a long, proud tradition of working in a bipartisan manner and NSBA looks forward to working with the Chairs and Ranking Members, as well as all returning and new members to the Small Business Committees throughout the 116th Congress.